This site has limited support for your browser. We recommend switching to Edge, Chrome, Safari, or Firefox.

Spend $50 or more and get 20% OFF entire order. Use code katsup20 at checkout. 

Navagrahas: The Nine Planetary Gods

The nine planetary gods, known as the Navagrahas, hold profound significance in shaping lives within Hindu astrology. These celestial beings influence various aspects of existence, including health, wealth, relationships, and spiritual growth. This blog post explores the significance of the Navagrahas, their mythology, attributes, and associated remedies. Understanding the Navagrahas provides insights into cosmic forces and how individuals can align themselves with these energies.

The Significance of Navagrahas

Within Hindu astrology, the Navagrahas play a crucial role as they govern karmic cycles and influence human life trajectories. These celestial guides direct individuals on their path towards self-realization and fulfillment. Each Navagraha represents a specific planetary body and possesses unique qualities impacting various aspects of human existence.

The Mythology and Associations of the Navagrahas

The Navagrahas consist of Surya (Sun), Chandra (Moon), Mangala (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (North Node of the Moon), and Ketu (South Node of the Moon). Each deity carries its own mythological stories and symbolic associations.

Surya (Sun)

Surya, the most powerful Navagraha, rides a chariot pulled by seven horses representing the colors of the rainbow. Symbolizing vitality, leadership, and divine radiance, Surya is believed to be the father of Lord Shani and Yamraj. Worshipping Surya is thought to bring strength, health, and success.

Chandra (Moon)

Chandra, the lunar deity, is associated with emotions, intuition, and the mind. Chandra is depicted as a youthful deity riding a chariot pulled by ten white horses. The moon's ever-changing phases symbolize the fluctuations of human emotions. Devotees seek Chandra's blessings for emotional balance, enhanced creativity, and intuitive guidance.

Mangala (Mars)

Mangala, the god of war and courage, represents energy, determination, and physical strength. Depicted riding a ram or chariot drawn by eight horses, Mangala is revered for valor and protection. Worshipping Mangala helps individuals gain courage, overcome obstacles, and channel energy constructively.

Budha (Mercury)

Budha, the god of intellect and communication, is associated with wisdom, intelligence, and speech. Depicted as a charming deity holding a sword and a book, Budha is considered the son of Chandra and the guru of the Asuras (demons). Devotees seek Budha's blessings for clear communication, improved memory, and academic success.

Guru (Jupiter)

Guru, the benevolent teacher and largest planet, represents wisdom, spirituality, and expansion. Depicted as a wise, elderly deity riding a chariot drawn by eight horses, Guru is revered as the remover of ignorance and bestower of knowledge and good fortune. Devotees seek Guru's blessings for guidance, spiritual growth, and prosperity.

Shukra (Venus)

Shukra, the god of love, beauty, and creativity, governs relationships, romance, and artistic pursuits. Depicted as a handsome deity riding a white horse or chariot, Shukra symbolizes sensuality, charm, and luxury. Worshipping Shukra enhances attractiveness, cultivates harmonious relationships, and unleashes creative potential.

Shani (Saturn)

Shani, the god of justice and karma, represents discipline, hard work, and spiritual growth. Depicted with a dark complexion, riding a chariot pulled by black crows, Shani is associated with challenges and delays. However, his influence provides opportunities for personal growth and transformation. Devotees seek Shani's blessings to overcome obstacles, learn life lessons, and attain spiritual enlightenment.

Rahu (North Node of the Moon)

Rahu, a shadowy planet, symbolizes ambition, material desires, and worldly pursuits. Depicted as a serpent swallowing the sun or moon, Rahu creates illusions and temptations. Devotees seek Rahu's blessings to fulfill ambitions while staying grounded and focused on the spiritual path.

Ketu (South Node of the Moon)

Ketu, the counterpart of Rahu, is a shadowy planet associated with spiritual enlightenment, liberation, and mystical experiences. Ketu, depicted as a half-bodied deity riding a chariot, guides individuals to detach from worldly attachments and seek higher truths. Devotees seek Ketu's blessings for spiritual growth, introspection, and transcendence.

The Influence and Remedies of Navagrahas

Each Navagraha possesses unique attributes influencing various aspects of human life. Surya governs leadership and vitality, Chandra influences emotions and intuition, Mangala signifies energy and courage, Budha governs communication and intellect, Guru symbolizes wisdom and spirituality, Shukra influences love and creativity, Shani signifies discipline and karmic justice, Rahu represents ambition and worldly desires, and Ketu symbolizes spirituality and liberation. Understanding their influence helps individuals navigate challenges and harness their beneficial energies.

In Hindu astrology, remedies are suggested to mitigate malefic effects and enhance positive influences of the Navagrahas. These remedies include specific mantra recitation, rituals, gemstone wearing, and observing planetary fasting days. Engaging in these remedies helps harmonize cosmic energies and alleviate challenges posed by unfavorable planetary positions.

Symbolism in Hindu Iconography

Navagrahas are often depicted in Hindu sculptures and paintings, each represented with distinct symbols and attributes. These visual representations enable devotees to connect with their energies and invoke blessings for various aspects of life.

Navagrahas and Spiritual Evolution

Beyond their astrological significance, the Navagrahas hold deeper spiritual symbolism, representing the interconnectedness of the cosmos and the profound influence of celestial energies on human consciousness. Understanding their spiritual significance cultivates awareness of the interplay between outer and inner realms, fostering spiritual growth and self-realization.


The Navagrahas, the nine planetary gods of Hindu astrology, significantly shape human lives and destinies. Understanding their attributes, influences, and mythological origins provides insights into cosmic forces. By embracing the energies and teachings of the Navagrahas, individuals strive for self-awareness, align themselves with cosmic flow, and embark on a transformative journey towards fulfillment and spiritual enlightenment. May the blessings of the Navagrahas illuminate lives, harmonize energies, and guide towards cosmic harmony and inner growth.

Related posts

Use coupon code katfly001 for 10% off your first order.


Congratulations! Your order qualifies for free shipping You are $250 USD away from free shipping.
No more products available for purchase